Archived – Governance 20160831-20170329

This page was archived on 29 March 2017

29 March 2017

Executive Committe, October 2016

This page was archived on 29 March 2017

The Society is a Registered Charity (No 1116749) founded in 1969. We have nearly 1000 members – Individuals, Corporate Members and Residents Associations. As a voluntary organisation we depend on the enthusiasm of our members which stems from the pleasure and satisfaction they derive from participating. Our activities are fun as well as fulfilling!

The Constitution was last amended in 2016. Our activities are managed by the Executive Committee. See our Annual Review 2015 for more information.

Annual Reviews for the past several years are archived with our Newsletters.

We are largely funded by membership fees and modest charges for some of our events. We also apply for grants for specific activities. We do not solicit donations either through street collections or direct appeals to the public.


Honorary officers

President Sir Hugo Brunner KCVO, former Lord Lieutenant of Oxfordshire
Vice-President Tony Joyce
Chairman Peter Thompson
Vice-Chairman Sir Clive Booth
Treasurer Richard Dodd
Secretary Vernon Porter

Elected Members of the Executive Committee

Gillian Argyle Ian Green
John Goddard Liz Grosvenor
Wendy Robinson Jonathan Scheele
Tim Treacher Tony Turton

Convenors of Working Groups and Initiatives

Planning Sir Clive Booth
Programme Terry Bremble
Transport Andrew Pritchard
Communications & Editor of Visions Hilary Bradley
OxClean Rosanne Bostock

The civic movement

Our Society is an active member of Civic Voice the national charity for the civic movement in England. Civic Voice seeks to make places more attractive, enjoyable and distinctive and promotes civic pride. More locally we are members of ANTAS, the Association of North Thames Amenity Societies.

civic voice logo   antas logo